599 why need an Amp

Author Post

Robbie, Ei2iP

Mon Jun 16 2008, 11:56AM
Reading Andy G3SVD comment's about missing the 6W station because the amp was not switched on.

If a station is 599, I don't understand why you would you even need it (the amp)??
Back to top
Brendan, G4DYO
Mon Jun 16 2008, 02:10PM
Brendan, G4DYO
Registered Member #441
Joined: Sat May 24 2008, 06:56PM

Posts: 42
Ahh Robbie.. Only True believers will understand such mysteries. As the Old Timer once said: "If you value your DXCC standing, you have to go with the full legal limit and with the speech-processor wide open."
Back to top
Andy, G3SVD
Sun Jun 29 2008, 10:30AM
Andy, G3SVD
Registered Member #187
Joined: Sun Apr 06 2008, 03:16PM

Posts: 8
I tried to reply to this earlier but it did not go in, so I'll have another go.
Of course I called with my 100W barefoot, but could not make it through the S.Eu QRM. When I first got on 6, 20 odd years ago, I'd have easily made it with the 10W we were allowed, but there were very few Eu countries on the band, now they all are and running high power. I did work him yesterday on CW 559 each way with the amp.
73
Andy G3SVD
Back to top
Ken, GI7UIP
Sun Aug 17 2008, 07:12PM
Ken, GI7UIP
Registered Member #676
Joined: Wed Aug 13 2008, 03:06AM

Posts: 3
and for those that scoff at the full legal limit amp for 6m sitting in the corner....all i have to say is remember F layer proipogation works very differently to ES and we are heading back to 6m F layer time again. The QRO stations will be kissing the linears when that happens

ES, QRP and a wet string for an anteanna can work, F layer QRP is as close as you get to masochism on 6m.
Back to top
Steve, VK3OT
Tue Aug 19 2008, 11:51PM
Steve, VK3OT
Registered Member #418
Joined: Tue May 20 2008, 10:10AM

Posts: 21
Guys, did you really think that all those amazing contacts from QF12 to UK in 89/91/92 were done using a barefoot rig and a 5 el yagi?
Even the G3FPQ-VK3OT qso in 2003 the only one from S/E VK to UK for CY 23 was full elgal cw power and a 9 el y.
Why would you risk waiting 11 years to attempt to bridge such distances with an e layer prepared station?
The mind boggles at the lethargy and complacence of EU ops who have it so good working under 10,000k.
To work an extra 6000 km takes real knowledge and understanding, not to mention a highly developed skill of CW.
Back to top
Steve, VK3OT
Wed Aug 20 2008, 12:03AM
Steve, VK3OT
Registered Member #418
Joined: Tue May 20 2008, 10:10AM

Posts: 21
Andy, G3SVD wrote ...

When I first got on 6, 20 odd years ago, I'd have easily made it with the 10W



Sorry old chum but the only 10w station to make it into VK3 was Ellis G5KW in JO01 and that was a shear fluke as I got his complete call from the VK8 working him which evened the odds somewhat.
I dont think any of the 20 odd guys I worked in England in Cycle 22 ran 20 watts do you?
I am the 1st to admit I was NOT running 20 watts, sad but true. Sorry about that but 10 watt signals just dont make it out to 17000 km.
100 maybe sometimes.
Back to top