K3

Author Post

Kjell-Göran, SM4GRP

Wed Apr 30 2008, 06:21PM
Hi all,

I'm waiting for my K3 to arrive in mid June. Is there anybody out there who has anything to say about K3 and 6m? I have seen some positive comments and some negative ones in the Yahoo K3 group. Here in this forum I guess the 6m experts are and thus any comment on what to expect is welcome.

73,
Kjell-Gran SM4GRP
Back to top
Fuco, EA3GLJ
Wed May 07 2008, 05:21PM
Fuco, EA3GLJ
Registered Member #82
Joined: Mon Mar 24 2008, 12:55AM

Posts: 8
Hello:

I have read that requires a preamp to 6m. My K3 arrive in early June.

73
Back to top
Peter, G3ZSS
Thu May 08 2008, 06:45PM
Peter, G3ZSS
Registered Member #10
Joined: Tue Mar 18 2008, 08:37AM

Posts: 12
I have had my K3 since last Christmas and been very pleased with the performance. I can only compare it with my K2 and XV50 transverter, but find the performance to be similar. Switching between the two rigs here while listening to GB3MCB (335 Km from here) and they both sound about the same. The latest software for the K3 has made many improvements to the transmit audio as well as adding the ability to send CW while in SSB mode and not having to retune the tx frequency to compensate for CW v SSB.
73 Peter G3ZSS
Back to top
Peter, G3ZSS
Sun May 11 2008, 06:23PM
Peter, G3ZSS
Registered Member #10
Joined: Tue Mar 18 2008, 08:37AM

Posts: 12
The K3's front end was optimized for high dynamic range, not the lowest
possible MDS. While -138 dBm MDS is adequate for many 6-meter uses,
we're planning to offer a small, external low-noise 6-m preamp unit as
an option.

We've already tested the prototype 6-m preamp, which provides an MDS of
about -143 on this band. It's very easy to use -- it plugs directly
into the RX ANT IN and OUT jacks on the K3's KXV3 module. It can be
powered by the K3's switched 12 VDC accessory output.

Since it is routed through RX ANT IN/OUT, it can be turned on
automatically when the rig is switched to 6 meters just by selecting RX
ANT on this band. The unit also has an external RX ANT jack of its own,
so that, when the preamp is not in use, an RX antenna for other bands
can be connected.

* * *

Would you would be so kind as to relay this to the Yahoo group?

Thanks,

Wayne
N6KR
Back to top