Go to page       >>  

6M newbie - nothing heard!

Author Post

Stuart, G6IMT

Wed Jun 15 2011, 09:51PM
Hi

Despite the aged call-sign I'm pretty new to HF /6M having returned to the hobby after a circa 27 year break (got married, had kids etc - you know the story!). Anyway after getting a couple of hundred QSOs under my belt (SSB / PSK) on various HF bands I thought I'd take a look at 6M for the first time.

The problem is I'm hearing nothing (apart from a few noises I've yet to identify). I've been scanning the FM frequencies, including all the UK repeaters and tuning around the SSB end of the band but to no avail. So, either something is wrong with my kit or 6M is dead in my area (Colchester, Essex).

I'm using a Yaesu FT817ND (are they deaf on 6M perhaps?) and a off-centre fed dipole for 40M - 6M. I appreciate the antenna may be a bit low-rent but I should hear something surely? I had some significant interference issues but I tracked the culprits down - it was a combination of my network switch and laptop monitor so I have to turn both off when I'm on 6. Not a major issue as I have another PC in the shack on WiFi which doesn't cause any problems.

Next step I guess is to break the ice with some of the locals on 2M (also quiet but not as quiet as 70cm!) and see if I can find someone to test with but I'm really surprised that I'm hearing zilch...I was thinking of investing in a Comet 15 vertical (no room for a beam) but I'd need to be convinced that it would be worthwhile first.

Regards,

Stuart
Trev, EA5ISZ
Thu Jun 16 2011, 08:04AM
Trev, EA5ISZ

Registered Member #13

Hi Stuart and welcome to 6m.

Well you have probably chosen the right time of year to make your first steps on the band although I'm sorry that you have yet to hear anything meaningful. I don't know how up to speed you are with what to expect to hear and when so please excuse me if you already know all of this.